Skip to content

Close confirm changes popup ​

Should you be asked to keep changes when closing documents or just have changes saved automatically. Requires closing and opening the app before working. Tested on Apple Preview.

  • Tested on macOS:
    • Sonoma
    • Ventura
    • Monterey
  • Parameter type: bool

Set to true (default value) ​

Auto saving is enabled, you are not prompted to save changes.

bash
defaults write NSGlobalDomain "NSCloseAlwaysConfirmsChanges" -bool "true"

Set to false ​

Auto saving is disabled, you are prompted if you want to save changes.

bash
defaults write NSGlobalDomain "NSCloseAlwaysConfirmsChanges" -bool "false"

Read current value ​

bash
defaults read NSGlobalDomain "NSCloseAlwaysConfirmsChanges"

Reset to default value ​

bash
defaults delete NSGlobalDomain "NSCloseAlwaysConfirmsChanges"